University of Idaho - I Banner
students walk on University of Idaho campus

Visit U of I

Learn about the many reasons the University of Idaho could be a perfect fit for you. Schedule Your Visit

Parents on campus during orientation

Homecoming Oct. 14 - 21

Join other Vandal families for a week of celebration and Vandal traditions. View Calendar

campus full of students

U of I Retirees Association

UIRA has a membership of nearly 500 from every part of the University. Learn about UIRA

Students participate in the TRX wellness class at the Student Recreation Center

Campus Recreation

Gym memberships and wellness class passes are available for faculty, staff and their spouses. Get Healthy

Borah Symposium 1980-89

March 27 - April 7

Committee Chair: Marvin Henberg, Philosophy

  • Mortimer J. Adler
  • Hamid Algar
  • Chancellor Joseph Sisco

Quest for Supremacy

March 30-31

Committee Chair: George Teresa, Bacteriology & Biochemistry

  • Richard H. Ullman
  • Alexander Cockburn
  • Leslie Gelb
  • Eugene Rostow

March 29-31

Committee Chair: Roy Fluhrer, Theatre Arts

  • Daniel Schorr
  • Michael Manley, former Prime Minister of Jamaica
  • Ambassador Armin Meyer
  • Yonah Alexander, replacing Claire Sterling

March 28-29

Committee Chair: Robert J. Gregory, Psychology

  • Jose Napoleon Duarte, former President of El Salvador (1979-82)
  • Cleto Di Giovanni, Jr., former CIA official
  • Robert White, former Ambassador to El Salvador
  • Francisco Campbell, member of the Sandinista government
  • E. Bradford Burns, moderator

March 26-27

Committee Chair: William Voxman, Mathematics & Applied Statistics

  • William Colby, former CIA director
  • Saul Arana
  • David Atlee Phillips
  • Ralph McGehee
  • Jaime Barrios
  • Michael Harrington
  • Laurence R. Birns, moderator

March 20, 25 & 26

Committee Chair: Amos Yoder, Political Science

Pre-Symposium Seminar: Discussing policies and problems of apartheid
  • Leah Tutu, director of Domestic Workers & Employers Project
  • Dr. Pierre Rossouw, Dutch Reformed Church, Pretoria
  • Aldon Bell, Professor of History at WSU, moderator
Symposium Speakers:
  • William D. Broderick
  • David Chainawa
  • Paulo Figueriredo
  • Leslie B. Labuschagne
  • Bernard Magubane
  • Jean Sindab
  • Reverend Leon Sullivan
  • Jennifer Seymour Whitaker
  • Frank Wisner

March 20, 24 & 25

Committee Chair: James Owens, Sociology

March 20:

  • Father Elias Chacour, Melkite priest, Israel
  • Amiram Efrati, United Workers Party of Israel
  • Dan Simmons, Mercy Corps International, moderator

March 24-25:

  • Philip Habib, moderator
  • Ibrahim Abu-Lughod
  • Barbara Bodine
  • Farouk Helmy
  • Mohamed Kamal
  • Judith Kipper
  • Rony Milo
  • Hanna Siniora
  • Meron Venvenisti

March 20, 24 & 25

Committee Chair: Clifton Anderson, Agriculture

  • Series of three Teleconferences linking Moscow, Idaho with Moscow, USSR
  • Discussion groups on psychological aspects of war & peace, led by Stephan Marks, German peace activist

Symposium programs:

March 19

“After Reykjavik, Where Do We Stand?”

  • George Breslauer
  • Vitaliy Churkin
  • William Courtney
  • Patrick Morgan, moderator

March 23

“Understanding Social Changes in the USSR and the U.S.”

  • Basil Dmytryshyn
  • Harrison Salisbury
  • Nina Tumarkin
  • Vladimir Zvyagin
  • Patrick Morgan, moderator

March 24

“Citizen Diplomacy: Making the Future Happen”

  • Cynthia Lazaroff
  • Douglas Mattern
  • Joel Schatz
  • Rozanne Gostovich Royer
  • Nancy Graham, moderator

March 28-29

Committee Chair: Steven Chandler, English

  • Ambassador Kenneth Adelman
  • Ambassador Jeno Rande
  • Ambassador Maj-Britt Theorin
  • Seymour Melman
  • Paul Walker
  • Andrew Moravcsik
  • Robert Grathwol (WSU), moderator

March 27-28

Committee Chair: Nicholas F. Gier, Philosophy

March 27

“Drugs: The Latin American Connection”

  • Edgar Chamorro
  • Elaine Shannon
  • Fernando Cepeda
  • Mark Dion
  • Richard Craig, moderator

March 28

“Can the War on Drugs Be Won?”

  • Ethan Nadelman
  • Peter Reuter
  • Samuel Routson
  • Duncan Hunter
  • Bruce Bagle, moderator

Borah Symposium

Physical Address:
338 Administration Building

Mailing Address:
Borah Foundation & Symposium
c/o The Martin Institute
University of Idaho
111 Perimeter Drive MS 3177
Moscow, ID 11111-3177

Phone: 111-111-6527

Fax: 111-111-9464

Email: [email protected]