University of Idaho - I Banner
students walk on University of Idaho campus

Visit U of I

Learn about the many reasons the University of Idaho could be a perfect fit for you. Schedule Your Visit

Parents on campus during orientation

Homecoming Oct. 14 - 21

Join other Vandal families for a week of celebration and Vandal traditions. View Calendar

campus full of students

U of I Retirees Association

UIRA has a membership of nearly 500 from every part of the University. Learn about UIRA

Students participate in the TRX wellness class at the Student Recreation Center

Campus Recreation

Gym memberships and wellness class passes are available for faculty, staff and their spouses. Get Healthy

2012 College & Department Award Winners

College of Science

2012 John B. George Award

Chosen from the Dean’s Award nominees and presented to the outstanding graduating senior in the college based on academic achievement and service to the university community.

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award

Awarded to a graduating senior who has performed outstanding original research in science or mathematics.

  • Jessica Osterloh, Environmental Science (La Grande, OR)

Dean's Award

Awarded to the outstanding senior in each department.

  • Molly Knox, Biology (West Richland, WA)
  • Amanda Williams, Microbiology (Boise, ID)
  • Kyle Behrens, Geography (Bonners Ferry, ID)
  • Diana S., Geology (Henderson, NV)
  • Katherine Phelps, Mathematics (Philomath, OR)
  • Brian Hare, Physics (Oldtown, ID)

Diane Haynes Memorial Award

Presented to an outstanding graduate student in the College of Science.

  • Yukta Timalsina, PhD Physics (Troy, NY)

2nd place in Disciplinary Research Presentations category at University of Idaho Innovation Showcase

  • Shannon Torstrom, Biology (San Jose, CA)

Department of Biological Sciences

Curtis and Mary Sundquist Research Award

Based on potential for excellence as an undergraduate research participant.

  • Savannah Patterson (Coeur d'Alene, ID)

Pohl Award

  • Michaela Brinkmeyer (Nampa, ID)

Undergraduate Research Awards

Based on potential for excellence as an undergraduate research participant

  • Stephen Burleigh (El Cerrito, CA)
  • Dora Boyd Cohen (Union, OR)
  • Maura Franz (Post Falls, ID)
  • Elizabeth St. John (Hayden, ID)

Department of Chemistry

American Institute of Chemists Student Award

  • Kellen Robertson (Troy, ID)

William H. Cone Award

Presented to the outstanding senior in chemistry.

  • Nicholas Weires (Eagle, ID)

Cooley Juve Award

Selected on the basis of scholarship.

  • Isaiah Gyan (Cape Coast, Ghana)

Merck and Company Award

Selected on the basis of scholarship.

  • Leah Knibbe (Richland, WA)
  • Nathan Yergenson (Eagle, ID)

Department of Geography

Lorraine and Marcellus Henderson Award

Recognizes a graduating senior who demonstrates outstanding scholarship.

  • Taylor Lundeen (Issaquah, WA)

Meritorious Achievement Award

  • Kelly Ann Hugo (Salmon, ID)

Department of Geological Sciences

Liselle Batt Award

  • Jennifer Lennon (Centennial, CO)

Alumni Achievement Award

Based on outstanding scholarship and service to the department.

  • Curtis Johnson (Arlington, WA)

Outstanding Graduate Student

Awarded to a graduate student with outstanding research in hydrology, geology, geophysics or environmental science.

  • Emily Martin (Hopkinton, NH)

Outstanding Senior

Awarded to the outstanding senior in geology.

  • Diana S. (Henderson, NV)

Outstanding Junior

  • Kim Miles (Juneau, AK)

Department of Mathematics

Outstanding Senior

Awarded to seniors who have shown exceptional mathematical talent.

  • Nathan Anderson (Spangle, WA)
  • Sarah Helland (Olalla, WA)
  • Katherine Phelps (Philomath, OR)

Chair's Award for Excellence

Awarded to graduating seniors in recognition of excellent academic performance.

  • Amanda Downen (Emmett, ID)
  • Audrey Hitchman (Boise, ID)
  • Nishelle Klinkhamer (Kuna, ID)
  • Elaine Lee (Sarawak, Malaysia)

Excellence in Teaching Mathematics Award

  • Douglas Torrance (Columbus, OH)
  • Zhenxia Liu (Shanghai, China)
  • Jesse Oldroyd (Anchorage, AK)
  • Liang Lu (Tianjin, China)
  • Masaki Ikeda (Kanagawa, Japan)

Department of Physics

Research Assistant of the Year

  • Aditya Abburi (Wisakahapatnam, India)

Teaching Assistant of the Year

  • Sirisha Chava (Rajahmundry, India)

Department of Statistics

Dale Everson Statistics Fellowship Award

Awarded to the outstanding statistics graduate student who has demonstrated excellence in and commitment to statistical consulting.

  • Boya Liu (Hefei, China)


College of Science

Physical Address:
Mines 321

Mailing Address:
111 Perimeter Drive MS 3025
Moscow, ID 11111-3025

Phone: 111-111-6195

Fax: 111-111-6904

Email: [email protected]

Web: College of Science