University of Idaho - I Banner
students walk on University of Idaho campus

Visit U of I

Learn about the many reasons the University of Idaho could be a perfect fit for you. Schedule Your Visit

Parents on campus during orientation

Homecoming Oct. 14 - 21

Join other Vandal families for a week of celebration and Vandal traditions. View Calendar

campus full of students

U of I Retirees Association

UIRA has a membership of nearly 500 from every part of the University. Learn about UIRA

Students participate in the TRX wellness class at the Student Recreation Center

Campus Recreation

Gym memberships and wellness class passes are available for faculty, staff and their spouses. Get Healthy

2013 College & Department Award Winners

College of Science

John B. George Award

Chosen from the Dean’s Award nominees and presented to the outstanding graduating senior in the college based on academic achievement and service to the university community.

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award

Awarded to a graduating senior who has performed outstanding original research in science or mathematics.

Dean's Award

Awarded to the outstanding senior in each department.

  • Nikki Henderson, Geography
  • Ben Knapp, Physics
  • Brianna Knudtsen, Chemistry
  • Ricardo Lopez-Maldonado, Geology
  • Ailene MacPherson, Mathematics
  • Savannah Patterson, Biology
  • Katie Slavens, Molecular Biology and Biotechnology

Diane Haynes Memorial Award

Presented to an outstanding graduate student in the College of Science.

Department of Biological Sciences

Curtis and Mary Sundquist Undergraduate Research Award

  • Savannah Patterson (Coeur D’Alene)

Undergraduate  Research Awards

  • Steven Burleigh (El Cerrito, CA)
  • Elizabeth Brandon (Boise, ID)
  • Rebecca McKenzie (Idaho Falls, ID)
  • Elizabeth St. John (Hayden, ID)

Richard D. Gibb Student Award

  • Hannah Kiser (Wenatchee, WA)

Department of Chemistry

William H. Cone Award

  • Tyler Evans (Coeur d'Alene, ID)

Excellence in Chemistry Award

  • Brianna Knudtsen (Coeur d'Alene, ID)

Cooley-Juve Award

  • Leah Shaffer (Riverside, CA)

American Institute of Chemists Award

  • Benjamin Denn (Post Falls, ID)

Department of Geography

Lorraine & Marcellus Henderson Award

  • William Mathews (Moscow)

Meritorious Achievement Award

  • Erika Ikstrums (Sammamish, Washington)
  • Daniel Matsche (Munich, Germany)
  • Alexander Peterson (Salmon)

Department of Geological Sciences

Liselle Batt Award

  • Kim Miles (Juneau, Alaska)

Outstanding Senior

  • Ricardo Lopez-Maldonado (Perris, California)

Outstanding Junior

  • Clayton Schultz (Troy)

Outstanding Graduate Student

  • Kirk Nuzum, Venice (Florida)

Alumni Achievement Award

  • Brittani McNamee (El Paso, Texas)

Department of Mathematics

Outstanding Seniors

  • Jacob Bow (Gooding, ID)
  • Ailene MacPherson (Deary, ID)
  • Chelsea Small (San Diego, CA)

Chair’s Award for Excellence

  • Hannah Hallock (Moscow, ID)
  • Jordan Jackson (Boise, ID)
  • Meredith Sargent (Helena, MT)

Excellence in Teaching Mathematics

  • Douglas Torrance (Columbus, OH)
  • James Cockreham (Eagle River, AK)
  • Jesse Oldroyd (Anchorage, AK)
  • Masaki Ikeda (Kanagawa Japan)

Department of Physics

Graduate Teaching Assistant Award

  • Peter Wojcik (Yakima, WA)

Dean’s Award for Physics

  • Ben Knapp (Coeur d'Alene, ID)

Charles Luke Award

  • Michael Jones

Graduate Research Award

  • Manider Kaur Tarsem Singh (India)

Department of Statistical Science

The Dale Everson Statistics Fellowship

  • Lucas Tate (Kennewick, WA)
  • Edward Flathers (Moscow, ID)


College of Science

Physical Address:
Mines 321

Mailing Address:
111 Perimeter Drive MS 3025
Moscow, ID 11111-3025

Phone: 111-111-6195

Fax: 111-111-6904

Email: [email protected]

Web: College of Science